Blast From the Past!!

I’m not sure if it’s just me, but my childhood was very visual. And I mean that in terms of watching a lot of movies, TV shows etc. I suppose that’s what comes from being a product of the 80’s. Who knows. But anyways, for me, movies have literally become bookmarks and a navigation system of my childhood. Some movies, phrases, scenes etc. have become some of the strongest memories I have. And watching them now as an adult literally TIME WARPS me to a very specific time and place in my life. I can practically provide a list of the movies I watched and re-watched growing up as a kid and for some that list will look like I’m either schizophrenic or perhaps the most evolved film connoisseur ever. I prefer to think its the latter – but then again all opinions are subjective.

But the reason why I’m writing this is because I very RECENTLY came across this priceless gem from wayyyyy back in my collective conscience. I’m not lying when I say that I must have been 5 or 6 years old the last time I watched it. I know that it was part of some bootleg VHS that my mom had taped off the Disney channel because it came before another one of my favorite movies (that completely trips me out as an adult) Beauty and the Beast with Rebecca De Mornay and John Savage. Super trippy. But because it was bootleg I never knew the name of this Disney short (now revealed to be “The Saga of Windwagon Smith”) and I didn’t know how to find it. My memories were very limited and all I could remember is that it’s a western and there is a covered wagon involved and I was pretty sure that at the end the hero saves a beautiful woman and sail away in to the sky together. I think. YOU SEE?!?! How do you track down something like that.

So for years I’ve always thought that I made that up…UNTIL NOW! And of course it was on youtube! Watching it again for the first time in 20 years was one of the most surreal experiences ever. I could literally feel my brain tingling! The best way to describe it is like a Deja-Vu-Acid-Trip! Soooooo crazy. I love that the things we are so obsessed with as children become monumental and mysterious in our minds. Then later on in adulthood, they seem so…normal.

One thought on “Blast From the Past!!

  1. Re-watching childhood television favorites is one of the few reasons I stick by YouTube. “Rocko’s Modern Life,” bootleg fairy tales and old 80s commercials: I’d be disappointed it YouTube didn’t have them.

Leave a Reply

