Top 5 Tingles: December

There really is something to be said for the Holidays. I think as a kid there is a lot of hoopla about Santa Coming and dropping hints to your parents in November and the anticipation of waiting for Christmas Morning to open a mountain of presents. As an adult (or an older child really) I always feel myself dragging my feet on the lead up to the Holidays. I hem and haw about all the decorations going up in the streets in mid-October, I start counting down the paychecks till Christmas morning and dread the busy malls. I kind of find myself being a humbug right up until December 1st when I’ll allow myself to throw all my energy into a Nutcracker/Egg Nog induced Festive Fury. And I always seem to forget about the fact that I’ll be getting presents. I always get so excited over the fact that I don’t have to keep my gifts a secret anymore and everyone can finally open up all the presents I picked out for them. So with that in mind, I’d like to partially think that this is my present to all of you. My top 5 tingles for December. But knowing that we’re on the downswing from the Holidays – they won’t be Christmas Themed. Your Welcome.

My new #1 hit on the computer

1.) Grooveshark For someone who has been using Pandora for a while, I’m finding Grooveshark a VERY welcome change in my habits. I find myself listening to it all day long on my computer at work (a blessing!) and trying out a bunch of different artists that I probably wouldn’t really ever listen to. Don’t get me wrong – I still love Pandora a lot. For me, I use it as a great resource to find new artists and new music that I wouldn’t ever know how to look for. And Pandora really got me through college. I don’t know how I would have ever written all my papers and projects without their Classical Channel. But the fact that I now have a limitation on how much music I can listen to per month is a bit of a turn off. Plus I don’t like the fact that I can’t go back to a song that I really liked and listen to it again. Grooveshark is different in that you can search by artist and be able to skip, repeat and pause music. These past couple of weeks I’ve been listening to the complete collections of Amy Winehouse, The Strokes and Laura Viers. Plus I’m finding that I’m starting to look up artists that I’ve always wanted to get into but never really had a chance to listen to all their music (Led Zepplin/Radiohead). I’m majorly liking Grooveshark these days and I hope that everyone will too!

If anyone knows where I can find this puppy...you WILL be grateful!

2.) Infinity Scarves I’m super digging infinity scarves right now. One of the things I love the most about living in the city is seeing the street fashions in winter. There is something so absolutely cozy and fashionable about seeing how everyone wraps themselves up differently in winter. I’ve loved every morning getting on the bus and seeing all the boots, gloves and coats and how you can style up each in such a different way. One of the accessories that I’ve loved to see the most and seeing how versatile it can be is scarves. This winter I’ve found myself falling in love with Eternity scarves. There is something so chic and effortless as the causal draping of a scarf over your head in a round, inviting cushion of knit. LOVE!!! I kind of want to just start collecting a bunch of them and wear them all at once…too much scarf??

I want this collection before I die...

3.) Hunter Boots Hunter Boots really need to be the staple of every winter wardrobe. For a couple of years now I’ve been dying to own a pair. For anyone that doesn’t know anything about Hunter‘s or “Wellies”, they are the original rain boot. Yes, think about rain boots and your first pair when you were a toddler. Now think about how old they are…Well, Hunter boots were created in 1856 to help navigate the rugged terrain and unpredictable weather of the English countryside. Hunter’s were the originals rubber boots and are much attributed to helping the English Soldiers nobly fight in the trenches in the first World War and also help them conquer the axis of evil in the second World War. Today they are simply the coolest rain boot out there. How many other rain boots can you say have the honor of two royal warrants! (The first royal warrant from HRH The Duke of Edinburgh was granted in 1977 followed by the Royal Warrant of HM The Queen in 1896) I think that these boots are especially essential living in a wet climate such as San Francisco with our wet winters. I’m so glad to say that I finally got my very own pair this Christmas!! Hallelujah!

Talk about a Power Couple

4.) Blue Valentine One of the absolute best parts of this season is waiting to see all the amazing movies coming out in such a concentrated 4 weeks. All of the years best pictures wait for a release date at the absolute latest possible week in order to secure Golden Globe or Oscar nominations. One of the movies that I’ve been waiting with BATED breath to see for quite a while now (I remember reading about it spring of 2009) is the movie ‘Blue Valentine‘ with Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling. For some reason I’ve always been attracted to films that chronicle the ups and downs, highs and lows, fights and makeups and moments in between everyday life that make up a “real” relationship. Some of my favorite movies, like ‘Flannel Pajamas’, ‘500 Days of Summer’ and ‘Peter and Vandy’ highlight these same themes of what it is like to be “IN” a relationship and the difficulties of it, but also the joys of it. From what I’ve heard – this film is one of the most raw and realistic portrayals of the evolution (or dissolution) of a relationship that spans over the course of ten+ years. All aspects of a relationship are opened up and revealed to the viewer – including some controversial sex scenes. From what I’ve heard Gosling and Williams even lived in the house that the film was shot in before production started. They decorated it together, made meals and lived life in the house so that it would feel more realistic as “their” house. I’ve been waiting so long to see this movie, that in many ways – I hope it lives up to my expectations!

My new best friend!

5.) Nikon P100 For a while now I’ve been following a bunch of different blogs (see blogroll) and have been loving all the different kind of photography in each. I particularly love the images found on  Mr & Mrs. Globetrot and The Sartorialist. It inspires me to pursue my own interest in photography and photo journalism in a way. For a while now, I’ve been thinking that I live in such an amazing city and the structures and sites that I see everyday are such an inspiration. I need to be documenting my everyday life in this magical city more. Thanks be to God that my wonderful mother is a mind reader! Because for Christmas this year she got me a wonderful Nikon P100 for Christmas that fits all of my needs for my fledgling photography interests. Its bigger that a compact Digital camera, yet smaller than an SLR so its easier to carry around. There are so many features and fun things to do with this camera that I really need to start reading the owner’s manual cover to cover in order to understand all the features and fun facts about this camera. But more than anything, I’m just very much looking forward to taking pictures of all the cool things that I see around me. I really do see so many interesting things on a daily basis. I need to be more proactive about documenting all of them. I can’t wait to get started!!

Leave a Reply

