Perfect Timing for a Grecian Getaway

Dreaming of this gorgeous Santorini Landscape

Ever since I stumbled upon one of my most favorite blogs on the world-wide web, Mr & Mrs. Globetrot – I have been desperately trying to find a way to travel again. I can’t believe that the last time I went on a vacation was in 2008. Sad to say (even sadder to think about). Thanks to the most inspiring travel photos (as well as power couples) I have ever seen, I have been trying to fight this incessant travel bug. But thank god – I don’t have to resist any longer. Tomorrow I am soooo excited to leave behind the city by the bay and head for the Cyclades!

I have always wanted to go to Greece. In fact ever since my mom went there with a friend in 1997, Greece has always been this place in my mind that is not only magical but supremely ethereal. A land of marble columns, airy tunics, succulent olives, and of course powerful gods. I imagine everyone eating feta all day long, while lounging by an infinity pool and wearing as much gold as their bodies will allow.  And of course, as an Art History student having studied the Parthenon for the past 6 years – the thought of finally being able to see this monumental historic structure is almost too much for me to even wrap my head around. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I see the Caryatid porch from the Erechtheion in the Acropolis. Swoon?!

Swoon

I feel so lucky to embark on this fantastic adventure not only with 3 of the most amazing women I know, but with some of my best friends in the entire world. I can’t imagine ever taking this journey with people less dear to my heart and soul. But of course, this trip isn’t only for our own enjoyment. My best friend lost her mother to liver disease two months ago. I have never seen such courage, strength and grace come from two greater women than Alexandria Brown and her mother Ladye Susan. One of Susan’s last wishes was to visit the Greek Isles before she became too sick. Tragically, she was never able to make this trip. I feel so honored to go with Ali to the place her mother wished to visit most in the world and be with her as she scatters her mothers ashes into the ancient Greek Caldera. I truly can’t think of a more poetic and beautiful farewell for anyone.

Leave a Reply

