Lost in Austen

On rain filled weekends like this past one, I can’t think of anything better than sipping on a hot cup of tea and watching all my favorite Austen movies. Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, Mansfield Park, Persuasion etc. Each and every one a priceless jewel. But this weekend was different. I decided to read one of Austen’s most classic and revered novels, Pride & Prejudice. Getting lost into the world of country entails, balls, phaeton’s, and corsets was magical and a dream. And I had never really appreciated what a witty writer Austen was. I had always taken her to be nothing but fluff (which it is – her novels are the equivalent to modern-day romance novels) but still. She is the master of the slow burn, starting off her scenes with all the inferences of delicacy and then spinning her characters headlong  into shocking  behavior! OH MY!!  I enjoyed my time in Meryton and Derbyshire so much that it was a bittersweet parting when I reached the last page. But then again there’s always next weekend right? Perfect ending to the perfect weekend.

One thought on “Lost in Austen

Leave a Reply

